A better way to draw

Discuss art techniques and styles here. If you need tips or have any questions about artistic style or want to show people some new skills, this is the place.
Binky

A better way to draw

Post by Binky » Tue Apr 26, 2005 4:11 am

I just learned (well not really, I've thought about this before) of  a more efficient way to clean up drawings. Rather than doing a rough sketch, scanning, then spending a really long time (possibly hours) tracing the drawing in Illustrator or Flash, I tried drawing using a blue col-erase pencil, then tracing it over in pencil. After scanning, and channel subtraction in Photoshop (or any other graphics program), it'll give you a perfectly clean drawing. Here's an example:

The original drawing:

Blue channel isolated in Photoshop:
(Don't mind the crappiness of the drawing; I did it in a couple of minutes, and I'm not that good at tracing yet)

I know a lot of people probably already know this, but this is the first time I've tried it and I'm very pleased with the results. The only other way I know of cleaning up drawings is by using a light table, and that's not very convenient. And of course, there's also doing it directly on a computer, but that's very tedious.
Last edited by Binky on Wed Jul 27, 2005 8:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Marco

Re: A better way to draw

Post by Marco » Tue Apr 26, 2005 8:00 am

Yeah, i tried that thing once, and afaik, most professionals around the net use the same method too. In theory, it has great advantages. :)

But i don't know why, i still feel at ease with drawing with pencil only. Mostly because of an equipment issue... i don't have colored pencils, only crayons... and i'm too used to draw with my mechanical pencil.

If there were colored leads, even 0.7 ones, it would be good to try, but i didn't find them around where i live. Do they even exist?
archonix
Chief Executive Officer
Chief Executive Officer

Post by archonix » Tue Apr 26, 2005 8:55 am